Applying the Techniques of Uta Hagen to Douglas – May 24th

I didn’t do this for Mr. Sloane although it might have been ideal considering its a monologue. I will be filming the interview with Douglas so we will already have surroundings and won’t need to imagine them. However, it still helps when rehearsing not in the space.

1.  WHO AM I?

(All the details about your character including name, age, address, relatives, likes, dislikes, hobbies, career, description of physical traits, opinions, beliefs, religion, education, origins, enemies, loved ones, sociological influences, etc.)

Name: Douglas Mallen

Age: 54

Address: 18 Beetons Way, Suffolk, IP331UY

Relatives: Wife Nerys Mallen

Uncle: Reg Mallen

Brother in Law: Allen Richarson

 

2.  WHAT TIME IS IT?

(Century, season, year, day, minute, significance of time)

Year: 2017

Season: Summer

Time: Mid day, 12:00

3.  WHERE AM I?

(Country, city, neighborhood, home, room, area of room)

Country: England

Town: Bury St Edmunds

Neighbourhood: Morton Hall

Home: 8, Tassle Road, Suffolk

4.  WHAT SURROUNDS ME?

(Animate and inanimate objects-complete details of environment)

Surrounding:

Squirrels, people, ‘Saints and Sinners’ posters, filming equipment. A park with children, trees, my lunch box.

5.  WHAT ARE THE GIVEN CIRCUMSTANCES?

(Past, present, future and all of the events)

Douglas has always had quite a routine life style. He has always sat on the same bench every Friday for lunch in the Abbey Gardens between 11:00am and 1pm. He is happily married with his wife Nerys. However boring Douglas seems to other people he is happy and that’s all that matters. Douglas would do anything to help someone out, he is kind and caring. He spends Monday in the town Library, researching history and politics.

6.  WHAT IS MY RELATIONSHIP?

(Relation to total events, other characters, and to things)

I don’t know Jill but when she approaches I am happy to help her with her research. However, it became apparent that she was a little forceful half way through the interview so I told her what is really important in life and that I thought she was rather rude. Once Jill left I carried on with my day it didn’t really bother me but I am no fool and don’t like to be laughed at which both herself and her camera man did.

7.  WHAT DO I WANT?

(Character’s need.  The immediate and main objective)

8.  WHAT IS IN MY WAY?

(The obstacles which prevent character from getting his/her need)

9.  WHAT DO I DO TO GET WHAT I WANT?

(The action: physical and verbal, also-action verbs)

Leave a Reply

